Photo : Manuel Obadia-Wills

Rob & Jack Lahana

Rob and Jack Lahana met in 2000, at Gang Studio. Rob had just signed with the label SOURCE and was recording his first album, Don’t Kill (2001). Jack was the in-house sound engineer.

From that moment on, they started working together. Since, Rob’s second album, Satyred Love (2002), and from one studio to the next, they would bring de la musique to life together. Rob writes the tunes, themes, and melodies in an endless creative energy, while Jack Lahana is behind every sound recording, every intention, catching them on the fly and enhancing their poetic power through his production techniques.

SUMMERCAMP is a long-winded project, featuring artists from all over the world in an invitation to friendship, strong feelings, and utopia. They managed to see it through thanks to their individual paths, the various circles of artists and friends they’ve come across. Rob has been playing on stage with Phoenix since their inception and has crossed the world from capitals to festivals. Jack Lahana has worked on a lot of successful albums, notably in South America, where he has become a benchmark producer.

SUMMERCAMP grabs you by the hand and takes you on a journey, from their studio in Paris’ rue d’Enghien to a multitude of territories, real or fantasized, where you meet numerous artists, from the unexpected to the more obvious ones. Along with their guests, with music as a universal language, each song is an invitation to share the hopes and dreams of Rob & Jack Lahana.

The composer is Rob, the beatmaker is Jack Lahana. SUMMERCAMP is their album, a collection of songs, a suite of intimate or epic moments, sunny and bloody, melancholic and dance oriented.

An avid fan of movie soundtracks, library LPs, and electronic music, Rob stepped out of the pop music world and wrote countless soundtracks for movies and series all around the world. As a result, SUMMERCAMP has naturally become a fertile ground for experimenting with images and collaborating with visual artists, through a collection of videos and film which will tag along with the music.

Videos

Photo : Manuel Obadia-Wills

Rob & Jack Lahana

La rencontre a lieu en 2000, au studio Gang où Rob fraîchement signé sur le label SOURCE enregistre son premier album Don’t Kill (2001) avec Jack Lahana alors ingénieur du son maison.

Dès ce moment, leur travail sera lié. Depuis le second album de Rob, Satyred Love (2002) et de studio en studio, c’est en binôme qu’ils feront exister de la musique. Rob composant thèmes, envolées et mélodies dans une perpétuelle énergie créatrice et Jack Lahana derrière chaque prise de son, chaque intention, les attrapant au vol pour en augmenter la puissance poétique par sa production.

Si SUMMERCAMP, projet fleuve réunissant des artistes du monde entier dans une invitation à l’amitié, aux sentiments forts et à l’utopie a pu aboutir, c’est aussi grâce à leurs histoires individuelles, aux nombreux cercles qu’ils ont croisés. Rob, complice de Phoenix sur scène depuis leur début, traverse le monde de capitales en festivals. Jack Lahana multiplie les productions d’albums à succès notamment en Amérique du Sud où il est devenu une référence.

SUMMERCAMP nous prend par la main et nous emmène en voyage, du studio parisien de la rue d’Enghien à une multitude de territoires fantasmés et réels où naissent les rencontres les plus évidentes et les plus improbables. Accompagnés de leurs invités, la musique comme langage universel, chaque chanson est une invitation à partager les rêves et les espérances de Rob & Jack Lahana.

Composé par Rob, rythmé par Jack Lahana, SUMMERCAMP est un album, un recueil, une collection, une suite de moments intimes et épiques, solaires et sanglants, mélancoliques et dansants. 

Bercé aux Bandes Originales, à l’illustration sonore et aux musiques électroniques, Rob fera le basculement hors des sentiers pop et composera d’innombrables bandes originales pour le cinéma et les séries à travers le monde. Aussi, SUMMERCAMP est naturellement devenu un lieu d’expérimentation  filmique et d’échanges avec de nombreux collaborateurs issus du cinéma, à travers une collection de vidéos, de films qui accompagnent son exploration. 

Videos